Close X

Blog

One final step before major changes to Washington State DUI laws

Posted by Aaron J. Wolff | May 04, 2011 | 0 Comments

In the past legislative session, both the Washington House of Representatives and Senate have considered major amendments to Washington State DUI laws. The two have come to an agreement and all that is left is the Governor’s signature for these changes to take effect on September 1, 2011. Below is a summary of the major amendments:

  • The Department of Licensing must give a day-for-day credit for the time period, beginning from the date of the incident, during which a driver keeps an ignition interlock device installed on all vehicles the person operates.
  • DUI or Physical Control is a class C felony if previously been convicted of a violation of section 6 (felony) DUI or Physical Control.
  • A requirement for an Ignition Interlock Device on a conviction for Reckless Driving for six months if (1) it is a reduction from DUI or Physical Control; and (2) the driver has a prior offense within the past 7 years under RCW 46.61.5055.
  • A requirement for an Ignition Interlock Device for 6 months on a conviction for Reckless Driving if the case was originally filed as either Vehicular Homicide or Vehicular Assault.
  • A requirement for an Ignition Interlock Device on a conviction for Negligent Driving – First Degree for six months if (1) the charge was amended from DUI or Physical Control; and (2) the driver has a prior offense under RCW 46.61.5055 within the past 7 years.
  • The Court must order an Ignition Interlock Device for anyone participating in a Deferred Prosecution for a DUI or Physical Control charge. Also, the time requirement for the interlock on Deferred Prosecutions shall not be less than if it were a conviction (in other words 1 year for the first time the interlock is required, 5 years if it is the second time an interlock required, 10 years if it is the third (or more) time the interlock is required.

These amendments will have a dramatic impact on anyone accused of a Washington State DUI. Bear in mind that they will not become effective until the beginning of September and only if Governor Gregoire signs the bill into law. Given the complex and constantly changing laws surrounding DUI in our state, anyone accused of Washington State DUI or Physical Control should immediately consult with an attorney with experience and knowledge in the field.

About the Author

Aaron J. Wolff

A former DUI prosecutor, Aaron Wolff has over 16 years of experience in representing people accused of DUI and is recognized as one of the leading defense lawyers in Washington State. His relentless and passionate advocacy has lead to superb ratings and outstanding reviews from former clients.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

The Wolff Defense Difference

Seattle court

Experience. Passion. Innovation. Please contact us immediately for a free initial consultation.

Personalized and Prompt Attention

Kirkland compressor

I pride myself in giving personalized and prompt attention to your case.